Travel Grants/Support

The German Society for Cytometry (DGfZ e.V.) supports the active participation of young scientists to scientific meetings in the field  with individual funding to cover part of the travel expenses.


Master, PhD, and MD students as well as young postdocs can apply for support.

Submission & Deadline

CV, meeting abstract and cover letter shall be submitted in digital form to the DGfZ president with the subject line „DgfZ travel support“.

Reviewing Process and Nomination

Applications will be reviewed by the council of the DGfZ e.V. Eligible candidates will be nominated on a first come-first serve principle and will be informed within 4 weeks after submission.


Funding will be provided as reimbursement after the conference upon submission of the original receipts to the treasurer of the DGfZ e.V.

Christian Plinski, Leibniz-Institut für Nutztierbiologie (FBN), Wilhelm-Stahl-Allee 2, 18196 Dummerstorf  ( The originals will be sent back afterwards if required.

About the Klaus-Goerttler-Prize

Since 1996 the DGfZ awards a younger scientist with the so called Klaus-Goerttler-Prize, which goes along with prize money of 1000 €. The award is named after Prof. Klaus Goerttler, he was a pathologist and trend-setting member of the foundation board of our society.

The Prize is dedicated to award a younger scientist for a scientific work out of the wide field of Cytometry which appears outstanding both in scientific quality and innovation as well as presentation and layout. It is expected that submitted documents should reflect a (almost) finished scientific graduation (Diploma, Bachelor, Ph.D. or an equivalent work). The graduation in written form (already printed or in press) and/or scientific papers already published (or in press) will be considered in the reviewing process by the council board of the society.

Documents can be submitted (c/o president of the society) both in digital or written form until July 31st. A testimonial submitted by a supervisor is desired. Next Time: 2021!

1The awarded scientist is expected to give a presentation reflecting his/her work on the occasion of the annual conference of the society.

BYLAWS: Klaus-Goerttler-Preis application (written in German)

Past years winners of the Klaus Goerttler Prize are:

WinnerYearTitle of work
Zishu Liu2019Neutral mechanisms and niche differentiation in steady-state insular microbial communities revealed by single cell analysis
Philipp Rosendahl2018Deformability cytometry and 1D fluorescence imaging in real-time
Julia Reinhardt2017MAPK signaling and inflammation link melanoma phenotype switching to induction of CD73 during immunotherapy
Jonathan Leo Schmid-Burgk2016A FACS sorting-based genome-wide CRISPR screen identifies NEK7 as a novel genetic component of inflammasome activation
Anna Okhrimenko2014/2Systematic study on function and and specificity of human bone marrow memory T helper cells which substantiates the new concept of resting systemic T cell memory preferentially located in the bone marrow
Alexander Grünberger2014/1Establishment of a novel type of microfluidic single-cell culture system and its first application in fundamental microbiology and applied biotechnology
Petra Bacher2013Development of a flow cytometric assay for high sensitivity detection of rare antigen -specific CD4+ T cells
Susanne Günther2012Population structure and dynamics of polyphosphate accumulating organisms in a communal wastewater treatment plant
No awarding2011
Hendrik Kortmann2010The Envirostat: A Lab-on-a-Chip Reactor Concept for Single Cell Biotechnology
Frank Schildberg2009Molecular mechanisms for the inhibition of T cell activation by fibroblasts and sinusoidal endothelial cells in the liver
Elza Friedländer2008Molecular interactions of erbB receptor tyrosine kinases – with an outlook on their therapeutic targeting
Claudia Wiacek2007Cytomics: Strategien von Cupriavidus necator JMP134 beim Umgang mit dem toxischen Substrat Phenol
No awarding2006
Tytus Bernas2005Minimizing photobleaching during confocal microscopy of fluorescent probes bound to chromatin: role of anoxia and photon fluxed
Lydia Tesfa2004/2Application of modern flow cytometry based technology to the investigation of T-cells specific for Mycobacterium tuberculosis
Dèsirèe Kunkel2004/1Visualization of peptide presentation following oral application of antigen in normal and Peyer’s patches-deficient mice
Thomas Meindel2003Biochemische und physiologische Reaktionen von inflammatorischen Zellen auf feine / ultrafeine Teilchen
Wim Corver2002/2Multiparameter DNA flow cytometry of human solid tumours
Tobias Knoch2002/1Approaching the three-dimensional organization of the human genome
Hans-Jörg Hammers2001Ultraviolet-induced detection of halogenated pyrimidines: simultaneous analysis of DNA replication and cellular markers
Anne Richter2000Prägung des Zytokingedächtnisses in Th-Lymphozyten
Joachim Rauch1999Spektrale Präzisionsdistanzmikroskopie zur Untersuchung der 3D-Topologie ausgewählter DNA-Punktmarker
Thomas Schmid1998Untersuchungen von Spermaproben der Maus zum Nachweis von Aneuploidie-Induktion: Fluoreszenz-in-situ-Hybridisierung (FISH) mit chomosomenspezifischen DNA-Sonden
Mario Assenmacher1997Zytokinexpression in T-Helferzellen: Muster, Kinetik und Prägung
Gero Brockhoff1996Drei-Farb-DNA-Analyse mit Quantifizierung des Epidermalen-Wachstumsfaktor-Rezeptors in Blasenkarzinomzellen

Poster Prize

A prize will be awarded for the best poster presented at the Annual Conferences of the DGfZ.
This prize will be annonced after the poster session during the meeting.
Past years winners are

WinnerYearTitle of work
Sandy Bauherr2019In situ-characterization of ILC niches during homeostasis and tissue regeneration by using multiplexed quantitative histology
Lisa Budzinski2018Osmium-labeled microspheres for bead-based assays in mass cytometry
Andreas Kleiber2017Advanced imaging flow cytometry
Kristian Schütze2016An improved cytometer setup for simultaneius detection 
of GFP and YFP
Stefanie Gamradt2015/2Direct ex vivo characterization of autoreactive T cells provides no evidence for autoantigen-based high a nity selection and expansion in autoimmune patients
Raghavendra Palankar2015/1Micropatterned arrays of de ned ligands to assess in real time the dynamics of single platelets
Karla Lehle2014/2Immunophenotyping of Outgrowth Progenitor Cells Isolated from Membrane Oxygenators after Extracorporeal Membrane Oxygenation
Philipp Rosendahl2014/1Real-Time Deformability Cytometry: High- Throughput Mechanical Phenotyping for Markerfree Cell Functional Assays
Jan Sradnick2013Multicolor Flow Cytometric Analysis of Endothelial Progenitor Cells in the Kidney Excludes their Bone Marrow Origination
No awarding2012
Cristina Hagmann2011Retinoic acid–inducible gene-I detects RNA of Listeria monocytogenes during infection of Epithelial Cells
Susanna Schubert2010The effect of inhibitors of oxidative phosphorylation on eukaryotic cell organelles
Susann Peickert2009The ambiguous behavior of CD133+/- subpopulations from different colorectal cancer cell lines
M.K. Hebeisen2008A microchip-based impedance flow cytometer for label-free, non-invasive single cell analysis
Jörg Fuchs2007Flow-sorted nuclei are valuable subjects to investigate the structural and functional nuclear architecture in Arabidopsis
J. Achilles2006Isolation of RNA from living S. cerevisiae cells stained with three-colour approach and sorted by flow cytometry
A. Bold2005Implementation of aImplementation of a practicable low-cost assay using a density-base CD4+ T-cell depletion method for the monitorin of HIV-infecte indivduals
Gabriele Jovzchec2004Influence of live strategy, habitats and nutritive supply on endopolyploidy in higher plants
Uta Joos2003Geometric properties of cellular adhesion patterns
C. Sticht2002Tissue microarray: Rapid linking to molecular changes to clinical endpoints of head and neck squamous cell carcinoma